Credit: Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

UFC Fight Night 43 & 44 Schedule and Fight Cards


The UFC has another busy Saturday ahead as they hold two events in the same day for the second time in less than a month’s span.

UFC Fight Night 43:

The first event takes the promotion to New Zealand with a battle of two men who either make their debut or return in the middleweight division, those men are Nate Marquardt and James Te Huna.

Marquardt (32-13-2) has lost three straight fights, all of which were in the welterweight division, prompting a return to middleweight for the 35-year-old veteran. His opponent, Te Huna (16-7) will be dropping down to middleweight after dropping consecutive fights to former number one light heavyweight contender Glover Teixeira, and then to former 205-pound champion, Mauricio Rua.

The entire UFC Fight Night 43 card will take place on Fight Pass, with the preliminary card kicking off at 2:30 a.m. ET/11:30 p.m. PT, while the main card begins at 5 a.m. ET/2 a.m. PT.

UFC Fight Night 44 takes place at the Vector Arena in Auckland, New Zealand.

Main card (UFC Fight Pass) 5 a.m. ET/2 a.m.
James Te Huna vs. Nate Marquardt
Soa Palelei vs. Jared Rosholt
Hatsu Hioki vs. Charles Oliveira
Robert Whittaker vs. Mike Rhodes

Preliminary Card (UFC Fight Pass) 2:30 a.m. ET/11:30 p.m
Jake Matthews vs. Dashon Johnson
Richie Vaculik vs. Roldan Sangcha-an
Chris Indich vs. Vik Grujic
Neil Magny vs. Rodrigo Goiana de Lima
Dan Hooker vs. Ian Entwistle
Gian Villante vs. Sean O’Connell

 

UFC Fight Night 44:

The second event of the day doesn’t take place until a few hours later.

That card is UFC Fight Night 44, which is headlined by a featherweight title eliminator between a longtime top contender and one that took the division by storm since his debut in the division last year.

Cub Swanson (20-5) took a loss in his UFC debut to motivate past the next five opponents he faced, finishing four of them. Now he waits for his fight with Jeremy Stephens (23-9) this Saturday in the hopes to claim another shot at the featherweight title, a championship that eluded him in his time in the WEC promotion.

Stephens has won three straight since his move to the featherweight division, highlighted by a devastating knockout win over Rony ‘Jason’ Bezerra.

UFC Fight Night 44 begins at 7:30 p.m. with one fight on the Fight Pass preliminary card. Next, it moves to FOX Sports 1 for the rest of the card with the preliminary portion beginning at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT and the main card starting at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT.

This event takes place at the AT&T Center in San Antonio, Texas.

Main card (FOX Sports 1) at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT
Cub Swanson vs. Jeremy Stephens
Kelvin Gastelum vs. Nicholas Musoke
Cezar Ferreira vs. Andrew Craig
Ricardo Lamas vs. Hacran Dias
Clint Hester vs. Antonio Braga Neto
Joe Ellenberger vs. James Moontasri

Undercard (FOX Sports 1) 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT
Colton Smith vs. Carlos Diego Ferreira
Johnny Bedford vs. Cody Gibson
Marcelo Guimaraes vs. Andy Enz
Ray Borg vs. Shane Howell

Undercard (UFC Fight Pass) 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT
Oleksiy Oliynyk vs. Anthony Hamilton

Tags: Adam Conklin Cub Swanson James Te Huna Jeremy Stephens Nate Marquardt UFC Fight Night 44 UFC.

Comments are closed.